Staying In-the-know About PTS’s Proposed Bylaws

At this year’s annual meeting, you will have the opportunity to vote on a significant update to our Temple Bylaws. The first update since 2007, the Proposed Bylaws ensure that we are compliant with current California law, clean up some vague language and align our Bylaws to our Mission and Values.

This effort is the culmination of nearly two years of work from a dedicated Task Force chaired by Arlene Rosenberg and Scott Haber. The full Task Force includes Rabbi Dan Feder; Joan Fox; Liz Gottfried; David Levitt, David Monasch (Past President); Jason Pollard; Betsy Rosen; Heidi Schell (Immediate Past President); and Karen Wisialowski (Chief Community Officer and Past President). We are extremely grateful to them for their work and particularly their dedication to ensuring these updates reflect our Values.

There are many more details in the documents available below, including a summary that explains the major changes being proposed. We encourage you to review these materials carefully, as our bylaws set the framework for how our synagogue is governed.